What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

“I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list”

First spontaneous trip: Budapest, Hungary
First spontaneous trip: Budapest, Hungary

It’s remarkable that one decision can unfold into a myriad of memories that encompass your journey. Transitioning into living back at home in California after almost a half a year of living and traveling abroad has honestly been difficult at times. Sometimes I feel like I need to satisfy my craving for a change of pace and have days that remind me that life isn’t about routine and playing it safe. I’m also learning that “home” is no longer just a place.

Home is a feeling. It’s laughing with my family and friends. Regardless if it’s under the roof I’ve lived under since I was just 3 years old.

I don’t think I realized this until I was able to live thousands of miles away from my family, in a place that was once completely foreign to me, and have it turn into that feeling of home. I remember the times that I came home to my apartment in Perugia and my friends were cooking dinner and we started all singing together, when mornings started by enjoying my espresso as I peered out my window just to see Perugia waking up, and the times my friends and I had late night chocolate and vino runs to our favorite spot– just because.

These moments piece together why I’ll never think of life differently than the little moments we create.

Yes, the big picture is important. But if you miss the smiles from people around you, the deep conversations in between mundane activities, dancing to your favorite song, and enjoying that delicious Neapolitan pizza like it was your last meal on earth–what’s the point?

I’m a big believer in the power of putting action behind your dreams. It’s silly to argue that dreaming big is enough, it’s not. Actions make things happen, not wishful thinking. While backpacking on my own, I remember feeling fearless; capable of accomplishing anything. Not as in I didn’t feel fear at times, but as in I didn’t buy into it.

I didn’t let being scared hold me back in doing the things I wanted to do. If I felt like going off to Sweden on my own, I just did it– like it was some normal thing like deciding what to eat for lunch.

What if I felt that fearlessness everyday? Well I’m continuing to pursue my dreams. I’m currently saving up (and trying not to go out for margaritas) so I can afford a trip to Brazil in January. Latin America is so intoxicating and the opportunity came up, so I figured, why not?

Returning from an adventure that was the time of your life creates opportunities to explore your current surroundings with new eyes, plan your next adventures, and share your stories. So that’s what I’m doing, and I like that life is keeping me on my toes a bit.

So what would you do if you weren’t afraid?

2 thoughts on “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more! I think that jumping in with both feet provides you with an opportunity to truly experience life. It would seem that the more you take this attitude towards life, the easier it becomes to take advantage of the next adventure. This is one spiral of the upwards variety that I wouldn’t mind getting caught inside 😉

    Thanks for the great reminder and wonderful post. Have an action filled spontaneous day 🙂

Leave a Reply

