The home-stay I never had: my first few days in Serbia

DSC_0367
A view of a small village and the train to/from Belgrade (capital of Serbia)
DSC_0533
The adorable Baka (‘grandmother’ in Serbian) and her favorite american girls
DSC_0515
Serbians drink “Turkish coffee” which means with no milk and the coffee grounds rest at the bottom of the cup. (For all the coffee addicts)
DSC_0409
Serbian baklava, a sweet dessert with honey and nuts
DSC_0401
Love the details of the homes with white lace in the windows
DSC_0502
Cherry trees are all over the farms we visited
DSC_0556
I met part of Tamara’s extended family and we laughed because I thought we looked like we could be related
DSC_0421
A glimpse of the home we visited in the village of Rastina
DSC_0344
Crkva imena Marijinog; The Name of Mary Church in the center of Novi Sad
DSC_0348
Downtown Novi Sad has some of the best night life

The first thing that comes to mind about Serbia is how generous and kind the people are here.  I’m currently living in a small town an hour from Belgrade called Futog with my best friend’s family. It’s the kind of hospitality that goes beyond feeling welcomed and comfortable– I actually feel like part of the family. I feel honored to see the intimate aspects of the family: the reminiscing of old photos and memories in the living room, daily meals together, and trips to visit family they haven’t seen in years. Today I was invited into multiple family members homes and I felt nothing but love (and delicious homemade stew and cake) from them.

This was an opportunity for me to experience Serbian culture hands-on and in a way that would teach me more about adapting and respecting culture in general. Plus, I love eastern Europe–it’s interesting and beautiful in this unique way.

Tomorrow brings a fun day of: cooking with Baka, an afternoon with new friends in Novi Sad, and belly dancing.

All my love. љубав

Leave a Reply

