4 Months Later

Four months ago I sat anxiously in the car as my dad drove me to the San Francisco airport.

It was 3 in the morning.

This is when I knew I was about to experience something life changing. My stomach started to have that aching feeling like when you’re about to go on a roller coaster or about to have an important interview. Leaving behind expectations and the familiarity of home, I was ready for an experience that would change me forever.

285276_10151215023351841_102742279_n

It’s now my last night in the apartment; my friends have now left Perugia, some back to the States, others traveling with their family. I really don’t know what was more difficult: not knowing when I’d see them again, or the realization that our adventures in Europe have come to an end.

My bed in our vintage apartment.
My bed, we said our apartment looked like a cute grandmother lived here before us

And to be honest, I can’t find the right words to describe the past few months, or how strange it feels that my time in Perugia is ending so abruptly. I wish I could accurately describe how incredible it feels when you experience a country for the first time, the exhilaration of feeling like anything is possible, and the heart-warming comfort of Perugia after a long week of traveling.

I am cognizant of the over-whelming appreciation I have felt literally everyday– towards my supporting family and friends back at home, as well as the friends that I like to call family here in Perugia.

Even though my time in Perugia is over for now, I am comforted knowing this simple truthif life is the adventure, then the adventure never really ends. 

“Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don’t be sorry.” -Jack Kerouac

Here’s to living fearlessly, with every intention of discovering something new. Off on my backpacking adventure.

Leave a Reply

