Travel lust: Where I’m headed

“Traveling is a brutality. It forces you to trust strangers and to lose sight of all that familiar comfort of home and friends. You are constantly off balance. Nothing is yours except the essential things – air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky – all things tending towards the eternal or what we imagine of it.” – Cesare Pavese

One of my favorite parts of studying abroad is how I have the freedom and luxury in creating my own experience. It’s this unique opportunity where fantasies can spark into your reality. Most people don’t realize this though because they believe it’s too expensive/unrealistic, and the truth is that there’s definitely a strategy in booking flights, where to stay, and how to save your money. Living on a student budget has taught me that I need very little in my daily life (I can thank my trip to Honduras in high school for that as well). You need to be open for trading comfort sometimes in order to ultimately do what you want. Plus, better stories come from the times I’ve felt unsure of my personal comfort (my first hostel experience) and making mistakes along the way (my first solo-traveling experience in Cortona).  I’ve learned to get creative so that I can make the most out of my time abroad. Most weekend trips in Italia are spontaneous (mainly depending on the weather), because the Italian train system is so easy and relatively affordable.

With only a month left of my study abroad program (scary how quickly time passes), I am narrowing down my priorities, and trying to figure out how to spend the 13 days– between my program ending and having to leave my apartment, before meeting up with my family mid-May.

If you had 13 days to go anywhere in Europe, where would you go?

66453_511983492175857_1730547678_n

Well, here’s my travel plans, including a few at the bottom that have not been officially booked yet. Let’s see where life takes me.

Where I’m Headed:

Sevilla, Spain

Prague, Czech Republic

Naples, Sorrento, Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast, Capri, Italia

Istanbul, Turkey

Porto, Portugal

Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Venice, Italia

The Cinque Terre, Italia

Belgrade, Serbia

Split, Croatia

Santorini, Greece

Where I’ve Been:

Perugia, Italia

Budapest, Hungary

Gubbio, Italia

Roma, Italia

Firenze, Italia

Siena, Italia

Paris, France

Barcelona, Spain

Marrakech, Morocco

Bologna, Italia

Cortona, Italia

DSC_0830

I have no idea where I’ll be a year from now, let alone 2 months from now, but I find beauty in not knowing who I’ll meet, where I’ll be sleeping, or what I’ll be eating. Let the adventures continue…

One thought on “Travel lust: Where I’m headed

Leave a Reply

