Wanderlust in Marrakech, Morocco

market
Shopping in the street markets
DSC_1193
Taken while exploring near our hostel
DSC_1217
Stephen negotiating prices for a hat in the market
DSC_1434
Exploring the Berber village after hiking
DSC_1236
Inside one of the Berber villages
DSC_1083
I loved all the shopping
DSC_1287
New friends from Chile and Canada
DSC_1093
Sampling moroccan mint tea at a local herbal shop
DSC_1199
Monkey business
DSC_1281
The camel I rode in the Berber village
DSC_1491
Jemaa el-Fnaa market at night
DSC_1165
A local I met on my way to the market, look at that smile!

Before I left for Europe, I knew I had to get to Morocco. I don’t know exactly what attracted me to the country in the first place to be honest, but I’m so grateful that I not only got to see it for four days, but my experience surpassed my expectations. As my last stop of my 10 day spring break adventure, Sammi and I met up with our friend Stephen and spent our time haggling prices for authentic Moroccan pieces at the Jemaa el-Fnaa market, riding camels, and hiking in the Berber village. We were aware that photography was not welcomed as part of their culture; it is polite to ask to take a photo before you take it. This became a facilitator in creating dialogue with people we met, as well as an interesting challenge we boldly accepted. Vivid with pops of colors, Marrakech has this electric, fast pace that instantly grabs your attention. The intricate details in the handmade woven bags and beaded rugs, the beautiful architecture, and incredible food–I loved it all.

My trip to Morocco was a turning point in my life. It felt like I finally got the culture shock traveling experience that I’ve been craving. On the plane back to Italy,  I realized that I have so much more to see, like I was embedded with an even stronger dose of wanderlust than before. Morocco will hold a piece of my heart as the place that stirred up a passion to create a life full of a different kind of travel.

wanderlust (noun) \ˈwän-dər-ˌləst\ – an irresistibly strong desire or an impulse to travel far away and explore different places

 يا حبيبي يلل Yalla Habibi! Let’s go, my love

Leave a Reply

