Pieces of home

mail

I was reminded of my family’s overwhelming support & thoughtfulness this week during midterms when I received a care package filled with some of my favorite things: fuzzy socks, dark chocolate, a handwritten letter from my mom, & other goodies. I’ve been fortunate enough to skype my family every other week, but reading my mother’s kind words really resonated with me when I thought about how incredible they are supporting me and my crazy passions.

That’s love.

I’ll be honest, at times living abroad can seem a little uneasy when you can’t just pick up the phone and hear your twin sister’s voice (I decided to save money and not buy an Italian phone). Learning how to keep up with my family’s life back at home was tricky at first,  but I’m starting to figure it out by planning skype dates on Sundays when I’m back from traveling & when my family isn’t working. Timing is key. To my friends, thank you for the sweet letters! Getting mail here is like getting a piece of home delivered.

letter

Leave a Reply

