Secrets of the city

Perugia

I’ve been living in Europe for a little over a month now. I’m learning to tune out the comfort of falling into a routine–I want to keep my wanderlust boundless. Granted, I have classes Mondays through Thursdays, but I believe that studying abroad is unique in comparison to traveling from place to place. It’s a luxury of  living the culture, rather than just seeing it. The lingering smell of Nutella-filled sugar donuts from the “illegal bakery” at midnight as I walk to my friend’s apartment is not a tourist attraction (it should be), but it makes me feel like I actually live in Perugia. Simply seeing a beautiful landmark and taking a photo of it is drastically different from knowing which crannies of cobblestone alleyways take you there. It’s the smile from the owner of my favorite pizzeria I visit religiously that reminds me that choosing a small town like Perugia was the right decision.

It’s easy to see the beauty of a city–it’s harder to seek out the hidden treasures, because it usually requires a dose of courage and spontaneity. And so far, that’s when my experiences get especially memorable.

Perugia, Italia

One thought on “Secrets of the city

  1. Perugia!!!! One of my favourite cities! I go there almost every year for the Jazz Festival. Have you had the chance to see it yet? It’s amazing! Hope I’ll get to go this year too! Very nice to meet you! Beautiful shots! Alessia

Leave a Reply

